Non European Countries


[return to section 1.2]

This section describes most of the categories available to migrants from non European countries who want to work in the UK. Introduced in 2008, a points-based system for immigration has replaced most of the previous work-based categories.

Each category has different requirements, so you should read the eligibility requirements for your chosen category in full before you apply. To be successful you must:

  • have a job offer from a licensed sponsor and a valid certificate of sponsorship; and
  • pass the points-based assessment.
  • Tier 1

    Highly Skilled Workers & Self Employed

    Tier 1 (Entreprenuer)

    Tier 2

    Skilled Worker with Sponsorship

    These three examples are the most common entry routes, further information on the other tiers can be found at the UK Border Agency website.

    [continue to general information]

    change text size

    Sub Pages